Programming odds and ends — InfiniBand, RDMA, and low-latency networking for now.

Introduction

About a year ago I began working with InfiniBand hardware. I found very little information on the web about writing applications that used InfiniBand verbs directly (rather than, say, through MPI) and decided that I should blog about my experience. My plan is to have the first few posts of this blog structured as a how-to on InfiniBand/RDMA development.

My hope is that I’ll help the next software engineer/grad student/etc. who finds her/himself struggling with InfiniBand and RDMA development and facing a dearth of freely-available information on the topic.

I should state clearly that I’m not an expert, but for what it’s worth, I have written several RDMA applications that have been deployed successfully on large clusters. There are far smarter people than me who are writing about InfiniBand.

4 responses

  1. What am I supposed to see?!!? The header picture?!?! It’s too white??!?! You want a motherboard background?! Aaaaaa!

    August 13, 2010 at 7:52 am

  2. Bhavin

    Hi,

    I am a student pursuing masters. I have chosen to work on infiniband for my final year project. As part of my project I am trying to implement infiniband over SDP. I have also setup two systems for this purpose having Mallanox IB cards. I found that OFED doesn’t have support for HA mode failover for IB over SDP when searching for limitations of this configuration. So I have decided to work on this issue.

    Right now I am going through the OFED source code to understand how different functionalities are implemented. I also found there is something called APM(Automatic Path Migration) is present in OFED.

    Sir, will you please guide me on how can I write my own verbs to use APM for IB over SDP. Is it possible to use APM for failover with IB over SDP?

    Please Help.

    Thanks

    March 29, 2011 at 4:39 am

    • Bhavin — I’ve not worked on APM and am not especially familiar with it. I’d strongly suggest checking with the very resourceful people at the linux-rdma mailing list.

      March 30, 2011 at 9:28 pm

      • Bhavin

        Thanks for reply.

        I’ll check on linux-rdma list.

        March 31, 2011 at 4:43 am

Leave a Reply

